Skip to main content

Testimonials & Reviews

4.95/5
Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara -  - Orthopedic Surgeon

Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara

Orthopedic Surgeon & Sports Medicine located in Santa Barbara, CA & Solvang, CA

4.95/5 Star Rating
255 total reviews

Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 255 reviews with an average rating of 4.95 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

TERRI O.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/03/23
My entire knee replacement from start to finish was flawless. The office staff is amazing and actually put the "care" back in healthcare. If you have an issue, they do everything they can to get you in as soon as possible. I am so happy with Dr Gallivan and his PA, Adam. They are a great team. Terri Jo Ortega
DOLORES J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/03/23
ii have already recommend a friend and he is doing her knee surgery in January.
ROBERT E.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/03/23
Excellent post surgery follow-ups!
MARIA "ISABEL" I.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/03/23
My experience with Dr. Gallivan and his surgical team was one of the best I’ve ever experienced. Before and after surgery I received a wonderful and excellent care. Doctor Gallivan is BETTER than the best. Isabel Isaac
GUY F.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/03/23
Dr. Gallivan and his team are awesome. I have and will continue to recommend Dr. Gallivan. I have experienced life changing results with my new knee. God bless you all.
ELIZABETH E.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/02/23
It was smooth&easy on my part&I am very happy with all the staff & others I came in contact with. The surgeon & nurses were great. Am really pleased at how it all came out. Thanks to all , Higgs, Elizabeth Eldred
Robin L.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 11/28/23
I recently had a very successful full left hip replacement by Dr Gallivan. I am extremely happy with the results. Dr Gallivan was so caring and informative every step of the way. I was highly recommended to Dr Gallivan by my Physical Therapist who owns the top Physical Therapy offices in Santa Barbara. He said that he sees all the results from all the surgeons in Santa Barbara and Dr Gallivan does the best hip replacement in town! Amazingly, within 15 days from my surgery I stopped using the walker and graduated to using a cane. Within 30 days I didnt need the cane at all and was walking on my own. Within 75 days from surgery I am back to doing all my favorite workouts several days a week. My workouts that I love are walking an hour on easy hikes, working out in the gym with weight machines, swimming 45 minutes or taking long walks on the beach. Before my surgery the uneven slopping of beaches caused unbearable pain on my hip. Now there is no more pain! Since this was my first surgery in my life I had so many questions at each appt with Dr Gallivan. He was always so patient and gave me all the answers I needed. He was great to me pre surgery and post op. He also came to visit me at my bedside at the hospital the morning after the surgery. I decided to stay overnight at the Hospital because I didnt have help at my home the night of surgery. I am really glad I spent the night in the hospital. I followed all of Dr Gallivan’s instruction for my post op including doing Physical Therapy, using the compression wraps for 21 days and icing the surgery area often and walking alot in my home. Dr Gallivan is a very skilled Surgeon and such a warm and caring person. You will be SO LUCKY to have him do your surgery!
Gilbert R.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 10/22/22
I am 88 years old and for the last few years have had serious pain in both knee joints. Stem Cell injections were very expensive and did nothing. When I could hardly make it from the cooking stove to the sofa, I finally decided to, at least request a consultation. Confidently expecting something like: "Why don't you die first?" Dr. Gallivan instead thought I was a good candidate for his Mako robot and set me up for total joint replacements. Make no mistake this is no simple office visit, but I was amazed to be able able to walk out of the hospital without having to spend a single night there. My recovery was quick enough that he attended to the second knee after only 11 weeks. Now I am a mere 10 weeks on and can already walk 1/3 of a mile. Dr. Gallivan is an absolute expert at this surgery, and combines professionalism with a most pleasant an assuring attitude. He is complimented by extensive follow up by his staff. Every detail is taken care of including hand off to Rehabilitation, and after surgery examinations by Dr. Adam Catevenis. The Mako robotic tooling is absolutely state of the art, and my 'Cowboy' legs are now straight within one degree. I am extremely grateful that he has given me my mobility back, and I cannot recommend the Orthopedic Institute highly enough.
Bill W.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/28/22
At 74 years old I was not looking forward to a total knee replacement. I am very active and play golf two or three times a week. My handicap is a single digit and I have shot my age several times. I played my first round seven weeks after surgery and at three months shot 71. My knee still is healing, but it is getting stronger every day. Dr. Gallivan is one of the most caring and talented doctors I have ever known. He always has time to really listen to your concerns and is available 24/7. His office staff and Adam his P.A. are great. I would totally recommend Dr. Gallivan and Cottage Hospital to anyone.
Marlene M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/11/22
When I first saw Dr Gallivan, my left knee was already in a bone-on-bone situation. I had been through 3 surgeries to repair/remove the meniscus, ligament damage; it had been subject to a significant staph infection of the left knee capsule. My knee was very painful, I was unable to run, walk any distance without pain, or exercise. Dr Gallivan took all of my circumstances into consideration; took extra precautions to prevent a reoccurrence of the staph infection I had years before I ever met him, and provided me with all the medications and therapy that allowed me an excellent result. I feel like I could be the "poster person" for his practice providing me with the best result possible. Following a routine of home therapy for 2 weeks and physical therapy for 6 weeks, and making sure I followed all protocols for icing, and exercise. I was released from care after 8 weeks. On my first Anniversary since the surgery I have no pain, full range of motion in my left knee and most important to me I have the ability to return to my regular exercise routine and the opportunities to engage in play with my grandchildren. What a great gift! Thank you Dr Gallivan and your entire professional staff. You are the BEST!
Marybeth J.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 01/27/22
Despite Covid PPE and new office protocols, the staff created a warm, friendly, & professional atmosphere. There is a lot of work that goes on behind the scenes and the pre- and post-op phases went smoothly. My knee is great, I’m not sure but I think it continues to improve even beyond my expectations.
Cheryl P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 12/01/21
So pleased with my knee replacements also my left leg was crooked which was repaired & now straight. Office staff went the extra mile for me.Jill the office manager is highly qualified.I thank them all.Dr G is special & highly qualified.Another passion Horse trainer &rider.Shocked that I can ride so soon.Thank you Dr.Gallivan.
Maria C.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 09/23/21
Always a pleasure.
EDWARD B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/31/21
Dr Gallivan and his staff demonstrate knowledge, professionalism and caring way beyond the expected.
NATALIA I.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/31/21
Very nice and professional office
PATRICK M.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/30/21
Surgery and aftermath going very well, hip pain free, staff very pleasant and helpful.
KENNETH B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/27/21
Friendly and efficient. Looking forward to my new knee
JEANNE P.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/26/21
The staff was: Friendly, caring, informative, efficient and happy. Dr Gallivan has A+ office team!!
LARRY H.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/25/21
Everyone was very helpful, friendly and respectful. Dr.Gallivan did not try to rush me through.
JOHN B.
5/5 Star Rating
Submitted 08/25/21
The surgeon and staff are engaging, thorough, competent and compassionate.