Testimonials & Reviews

4.98/5
Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara -  - Orthopedic Surgeon

Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara

Orthopedic Surgeon & Sports Medicine located in Santa Barbara, CA & Solvang, CA

61 total reviews

Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 61 reviews with an average rating of 4.98 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

ILENE P.
Submitted 04/23/21
Jill was amazing in helping me get crated and soon to be seen for evaluation. Smart, caring and ON IT! Says a lot about this practice to have her at the starting gate. Thank you Jill!
ROBERT S.
Submitted 04/21/21
Dr. Gallivan and his staff are hands-on good communicators and make the visit very productive and informative I wouldn’t consider any other orthopedic group in town and I refer to any friends in need of a good surgeon to go see Dr. Gallivan
MARILYN S.
Submitted 04/20/21
Having had great results in the past with 2 hip surgeries I feel I am in good hands with Dr. G. Knee replacements have improved.
RONALD M.
Submitted 04/16/21
Great, friendly Physician and staff
PEGGY F.
Submitted 04/15/21
Friendly staff. Very knowledgeable and efficient. Doctor professional and thorough. All questions and concerns answered
JOHN T.
Submitted 04/12/21
Excellent!
ROBERT D.
Submitted 04/08/21
Exam and referral for P.T. What could go wrong?
MAUREEN M.
Submitted 04/08/21
I got a lovely call from Julie (?) after my feedback which I really appreciated, thank you.
DAVID C.
Submitted 04/02/21
Dr Galivan is a top notch Orthopedic doctor. He takes the time and attention needed for successful repairs and healing.
RONALD P.
Submitted 03/15/21
Dr Gallivan was very informative as to my condition and diagnosis. He took the time necessary to explain and answer all of my questions
CATHERINE L.
Submitted 03/15/21
I trust the process
MARK C.
Submitted 03/05/21
Everything worked out well, thanks
Sharon D.
Submitted 04/30/20
I recently had a total knee replacement with Dr. Gallivan. I had such an easy, rapid recovery. He is an excellent surgeon and uses a technique which most of the doctors do not use that aids in a faster recovery. He is very easy to talk to and explained everything very thoroughly. I highly recommend him. (originally posted 3/19/19)
Stephanie E.
Submitted 04/30/20
Love Dr. Gallivan! He repaired my broken shoulder, all healed now. GREAT bedside manner, GREAT doctor!! He makes having broken bones fun!! Stephanie E. (originally posted 1/7/19)
Janette F.
Submitted 04/30/20
I believe Dr.Gallivan and his staff are by far the best anywhere. I have total confidence in Dr.Gallivan, I felt it from the moment I met him and that for me is unusual. On September 11th, while wide awake I got a new hip and every day is better than the last. I expect to be back to cycling within the next few weeks!! Everyone in the office from Jackie who handles scheduling your surgery to Adam and Taylor go above and beyond to make sure you get the best of care. I cannot thank them enough. Truly a great experience. (originally posted 11/6/18)
Greg N.
Submitted 04/30/20
I am a Veteran and this is the doctor the VA chose for me to do my knee replacement. I could not have made a better choice if I had picked one myself. Surgery is a huge decision and big part of that is feeling comfortable with the doctor you choose. The qualities that drew me to Dr. William Gallivan, Jr. were how close he is with his family and staff. They all are like one big family and make you feel that way too. I could not have asked for a better experience and I had checked on several others in the area and done my homework. I am super happy with my recovery. I am 47 and athletic but had a total knee replacement and am back playing softball and hitting home runs after only 3 months post surgery. Still not sprinting yet but I feel like I probably could. Dr. Gallivan is an amazing doctor and really cares about your treatment as does his staff. He considers all avenues available to you when contemplating surgery. If you're on the fence for a surgeon then definitely consider him. (originally posted 2/21/18)
Edda H.
Submitted 04/30/20
After Dr Gallivan treated my 77 year old knees, I'm able to walk the hills in the village of my summer home in Italy. Thank You (originally posted 7/28/17)
Jack R.
Submitted 04/30/20
I had known for a long time that I would need to have something done with my right knee. Although it could be painful at times, it was primarily the lack of reliability that bothered me the most. The precipitating event that caused me to go see Dr. Gallivan was that day that I could not complete my stress echocardiogram test because my knee locked up mid-test.I had already done some research over the prior few months and I had found some things to look for in choosing a surgeon to perform a knee replacement. I discovered that the two biggest risks are infections and blood clots, although the chance a patient would experience either of the events is quite small, less than 2%. As I explored more, though, I found that maybe as many as 20% of the people who undergo a total knee replacement surgery are not satisfied with the result. This seems to be a result of improper fit or adjustment. I know a retired fire captain who has never been happy with his knee replacement and says it has badly affected his enjoyment of golf to the point of him considering giving it up. Some of the surgeons who addressed this latter concern primarily practice something called kinematic adjustment. When I looked, I saw that Dr. Gallivan used a computer aided navigation system that not only assisted with the kinematic adjustment, but also it allowed him a standard of precision and repeatability that was not possible without the system. In addition, Dr. Gallivan performs what is known as a minimally invasive procedure. Although the most visible result of this procedure is a significantly shorter scar, the most important result is that it calls for moving the quadraceps muscle and tendon aside, rather than cutting it. For the patient, this can mean a reduced recovery time.I searched the web for stories from people who were facing or had gone through a total knee replacement, I found a forum (https://bonesmart.org/forum/) that hosted a pre-op and a post-op section. I was particularly concerned by the recovery stories that stretched into months and years. I needed to assure myself that I was prepared for what was ahead. There were plenty of supportive posters and the forum seemed like it provided a good center for people with a surgery in their future. In the end, I did not post my own story because, as I listened to the staff at Dr. Gallivan’s office, it seemed that for me at least participating in such a forum pre-surgery might only serve to increase my anxiety.I had been told that I would be awake through the entire surgery. Although this worried me, I was assured by one of Dr. Gallivan’s staff that I would think I was in Disneyland. Not entirely true, but closer to true than my worries. I am glad to have been awake and able to watch my surgery and I hope I wasn’t too boring for the anesthesiologist as I tried to keep up a light banter. After the surgery, I was wheeled to my room for an overnight stay. I had been forewarned that I would be expected to walk some that day. When I awoke from a nap, two terrific young nurses insisted that I get up and walk a few feet with a walker. I did not feel a lot of pain at that point so I was glad to comply. I was surprised that not only could I walk the 25 feet they expected of me but went on to walk completely around the joint replacement wing. I came back and took another nap.The next day I came home, put my foot up and spent most of the afternoon in a good book. The next day, I went in to work for a couple of hours. I took it easy for a couple of days, but by the time for my follow-up visit with Dr. Gallivan eight days after surgery, I was able to walk from my car into his office without cane or walker. I have never used them since. I went to my physical therapy sessions as specified, but by the end of the month, my range of motion had almost completely returned.My knee was so badly worn before the surgery that it was tiring to stand for a long time. I did not realize that I must have been providing stability in my knee by muscle tension. Now, six months after the surgery, I can stand for an hour or more and feel as relaxed after the hour as before. The increased stability I feel now still surprises me. I am very happy that I went through with the surgery. Although I know that not everyone will realize the quick recovery I had, I believe that once they have recovered, most people will achieve a similar fantastic result. (originally posted 2/18/17)
Nelson A.
Submitted 04/30/20
"Nelson Alexander - I am 83 I live in Atascadero, Calif. For the past 20 years I have nursed my right knee as it has deteriorated to the point on being bone on bone. It had become very painful to walk even with the use of a cane and almost impossible to walk up or down steps. Three friends who had the same problem told me about Doctor Gallivan and the success they had with him and their knee replacement. I met with Dr. Gallivan and we scheduled my surgery for Sept 26,2017. I was told by another individual that had been through the same surgery by another doctor that for the first month I would hate the surgeon, the second month I would like him, and the third month I would love him. The surgery took place as scheduled. A few hours after the surgery, the nurse had me walk with a walker about 40 feet. The next morning I walked around the floor of the hospital and up and down 4 steps.That afternoon I was sent home. I knew how critical therapy was so beginning the next day I walked 50 steps in my house every hour on the hour. Beginning the second week I was walking without my walker or my cane. Within 3 weeks I was doing outside therapy and now at the end of 8 weeks I have the strength to go up and down steps with no problem. I have no pain & my knee is as it was 20 years ago when this all started. It did not take 3 months to love my doctor, it took less than a week. I now join my 3 friends in recommending anyone who needs knee surgery, don't put it off. See Doctor Gallivan. I don't believe you could find a better surgeon in the state of Calif. or maybe in the USA (originally posted 12/8/17)
Diana K.
Submitted 04/30/20
I had a partial knee replacement done by Dr Gallivan and his team a month ago in Santa Barbara -- the care and attention I received was honestly quite amazing - Dr Gallivan met with me before the surgery and best of all it has only been a month since the surgery and I already feel almost back to normal - in fact one of the many details I appreciated from Dr Gallivan was that he did the surgery as a day case so I could go straight back home in the afternoon and walking (albeit with a cane for a few days) right away.....I now am back at the gym using the elliptical and the bike and feeling great! (originally posted 1/6/17)