Testimonials & Reviews

4.98/5
Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara -  - Orthopedic Surgeon

Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara

Orthopedic Surgeon & Sports Medicine located in Santa Barbara, CA & Solvang, CA

58 total reviews

Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 58 reviews with an average rating of 4.98 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Orthopedic Institute of Santa Barbara below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Barry H.
Submitted 04/30/20
What relief. No more pain. I can move again. I had no idea how the pain in my knee had affected me. I'm back to dancing, hiking, playing badminton. I can golf and can carry my golf clubs. And surf. My knee was so stiff and weak. What a difference! Riding my bike up Gibraltar Road doesn't hurt. Yes, the surgery hurts but now that seems like a distant past. It's been one year since the surgery. Not afraid to get the other knee done if it needs to happen. I really got my life back. (originally posted 7/22/16)
Norman A.
Submitted 04/30/20
I had been a runner, jogger and then hiker all my life but at age 79 it became apparent due to all the pounding on the pavement, I needed new knees. Being diabetic I knew that healing from surgery would be tricky, and presented some significant risks, so I decided to get opinions from USC and Stanford hospitals. After receiving favorable opinions from both aforementioned hospitals, I ultimately wanted to be near my family and home in the Santa Ynez Valley, and thus proceeded to find an orthopedic doctor in the Cottage Health System. Dr. William Gallivan was the right choice, and within a year and a half I had both knees replaced. Dr. Gallivan was thorough and professional with his treatment from diagnosis to post surgery care. I always had the upmost confidence and trust in him. Due to my previous health issues, my rehabilitation was a bit more extensive. Dr. Gallivan was exceptional in directing my care not only, within Cottage Health System in Santa Barbara and Santa Ynez, but also the Rehabilitation Hospital and the outstanding wound clinic and hyperbaric departments. Dr. William Gallivan is truly a first class orthopedic doctor and Santa Barbara County is truly lucky to have him serving its community. (originally posted 9/16/13)
Daniel C.
Submitted 04/30/20
Eight (8) weeks after knee replacement surgery playing golf and riding my horse, this was the statement made by Dr. Gallivan. At 63 years old and on my second knee replacement, I was definitely skeptical. But it happened, under the direction of Dr. Gallivan and working with the physical therapy team at Muller & Weber, I was able to achieve this feat as evidence in the pictures below. My new knee has eliminated the serious pain before the operation and has allowed me continue with the active life that I desire. Dr. Gallivan uses the most advanced computer added technology available and I highly recommend him. (originally posted 9/16/13)
Blake L.
Submitted 04/30/20
I cannot say enough about how good my surgery experience with Dr. Gallivan and team was. It has been eight months and my new knee is requesting my other knee to meet the challenge again. The staff that works with Bill are some of the most caring and professional people I've met. While living in New York City I worked for several years for doctors and know what it means to feel taken care of when suffering. I feel full confidence in Dr. Gallivan both of the PA's who saw me post op. (originally posted 9/16/13) The fact that the rehab folks he works with are also extremely competent is very much part of a group of people who care about their patients.
Owen And Laurie G.
Submitted 04/30/20
One-stop shopping is not usually associated with a doctor except by my husband. He managed to rupture his Achilles tendon and tear his rotator cuff, all before needing a total knee replacement. Luckily, Dr. Gallivan is here in Santa Barbara. Both the Achilles tendon and the shoulder injury were very serious and rather complicated surgeries with a long recovery. No problem with Dr. Gallivan. Owen now walks completely normally with absolutely no sign of the Achilles tendon rupture, and he wishes that his other shoulder were as good as the one Dr. Gallivan repaired. His knee replacement is an even more amazing story. I had a total knee replacement with Dr. Gallivan four years ago. Like most people, I had put it off for years, dreading the horrors shared by so many friends who had had the operation. My physical therapist recommended Dr. Gallivan, telling me that he was the only one in town using a computer-assisted method to perfect the alignment, which resulted in much quicker and more complete recovery. Bless that man! My knee surgery was not at all what I expected, and I was back doing everything I normally do in less than two months, and that includes going to the gym 6 days a week, hiking, biking, and lots of walking. Except for the few moments a day when you have to work hard to regain the range of motion in the knee, I experienced no pain. And what a joy to move again without pain! We weren't sure that Owen's knee surgery would be so easy since, at almost 80, he was ten years older than I had been. His was even easier. He was out of the hospital within 24 hours and had regained the required range of motion in his knee within two weeks. Even the physical therapist was amazed. Dr. Gallivan had changed a few of his techniques in the time since my surgery, and it was an even better experience. As I write this, it is five weeks since Owen had his surgery, and there is very little that he cannot do. He had a little more pain than I did, but none in the knee. His pain was more muscular as his leg became adjusted to being straight again after so many years of being distorted because of his knee problems. We have decided to wait a few more weeks before we take our first hike, but we are both confident that it will be pain free. We cannot say enough good things about Dr. Gallivan and have already sent him many patients, all as happy as we are. Not only is Dr. Gallivan an extraordinary orthopedic surgeon, he is a wonderful human being. We look forward to seeing him and all the exceptional and responsive people of his staff. Hopefully, our visits will be social and not because my husband has blown up another body part! (originally posted 9/16/13)
Carol A.
Submitted 04/30/20
Three months after Dr. Gallivan replaced my second knee (my other knee was one year old), I was hiking up the cobblestone streets to Edinburgh Castle and climbing to the top of the stadium to observe the military tatttoo presented by the Scots military. Eight months later, I climbed to the top of the Acropolis. I think my replacement knees are better than the real thing! Now I am thinking about where I can go next year to see what I can climb! (originally posted 6/4/14)
Jim B.
Submitted 04/30/20
Dr. Gallivan repaired my right rotator cuff approximately seven years ago. Following a brief rehab program, I've had no problems and enjoy full mobility of my right shoulder and arm. A total success. (originally posted 6/4/14)
Sandra W.
Submitted 04/30/20
As you can see, I LOVE a life of adventure. So when I turned 67 and arthritis in my knees interfered with my lifestyle, urgent intervention was needed. What to some may seem unfortunate- having a stroke- is how I became acquainted with Dr. Gallivan. My neurologist sent me to him for my knees with the order to, \Do it now!\" So I followed his advice and got two new knees by Dr. Gallivan both within eight months. I walked out of the hospital the next day after each of the surgeries. I was off narcotics the fourth day after surgery. At the three month mark the only reminder I had of having knee replacement surgery was the sensation over the incisions when I shaved my legs! I am now doing lunges and looking forward to a trip trekking Machu Picchu! Please email me if you have any questions. I can be reached at: Tsunamismommy@icloud.com (originally posted 7/22/14)
Beth S.
Submitted 04/30/20
Full knee replacement 9/2013. Colorado 11/2013. Philadelphia and NYC 12/2013. Cuba and St Kitts, 5/2014. Danced at my son's wedding 8/2014. All is good with a new knee. (originally posted 8/19/14)
Vaughn G.
Submitted 04/30/20
As is the case with most people as they age, health difficulties arise to take their attention and their money. My knees were one of the concerns as I got older, what with the cartilage leaving in a noticeable and painful way. In my conversations with others I discovered that complete knee replacement was the solution and I would know when the time arrived to have them done. That time occurred when we were working part-time at Cachuma Lake. One of my fellow workers had his knees replaced so successfully that he always said \he could walk forever. (originally posted 10/23/14)
Sally M.
Submitted 04/30/20
Dr. Gallivan touches more than just the lives of his patients; he impacts whole families. My mother, Sally Moore, has had both knees replaced by Dr. Gallivan. She scheduled them 6 months apart. She couldn't be happier and told me just yesterday that her knees do not hurt. For so many, the goal after surgery is to return to the golf course, tennis court, or hiking trail, but for my mother, her goal was to keep up with her grandkids. Family is everything! She is a retired Kindergarten teacher and now spends 3 days a week with our 4 year old twins and our 7 year old son. Now 9 months after the left knee and 3 months after the right, she can outlast the kids, is up and down off the floor, walks with confidence, and can stand up pain free. The outcome is fantastic, but we have tremendous praise for the process as well. From the first meeting with Dr. Gallivan to the last follow up appointment, we have been met with efficiency, kindness, and thoroughness from him and his staff. Simply put, Dr. Gallivan is the best! We traveled from San Luis Obispo to see him, but would have happily gone much further! It is wonderful to watch her move without pain. My kids have a Grandma that can do everything they can! (originally posted 10/23/14)
Michael N.
Submitted 04/30/20
This is a letter of recommendation for Dr. William Gallivan. He operated on me 12 years ago to repair a surgery which was done incorrectly in Canada. At that time, my leg was broken in 2 places as a result of a skiing accident. Dr. Gallivan was able to break and reset my leg successfully. This August (2014) he performed knee replacement surgery on me. I was able to leave and walk out of the hospital the same day! I highly recommend Dr. Gallivan and have referred 3 of my friends to him. They have all had their surgeries and they have all been very pleased. I would be very happy to speak on his behalf. My name is Michael Nutik and my phone # is 805-565-1194. (originally posted 10/23/14)
Paul I.
Submitted 04/30/20
Dr. Gallivan replaced my right knee in mid June 2013 and my left knee exactly 4 weeks later. That's a pretty sporty schedule, but it worked out great for me. It's only now with my new knees and walking comfortably again that I fully realize how constrained I had let my life become due to constant knee pain. I just got back from a two week Alaskan \do it yourself\" (unguided) archery moose and black bear hunt (originally posted 10/31/14)
Terry D.
Submitted 04/30/20
I am happy to relate my experience with Dr. Gallivan. I have had 2 surgeries; one knee and one hip.And, here i am at 90 years of age playing golf 3 times a week with no pain or restrictions of any kind. I even shot better than my age for my 90th birthday! His conscientious, professional approach is outstanding in that he stalled at my last surgery until he was assured by my heart doctor that I was fine for surgery. His staff are well qualified and personable and attentive to your needs. I offer my very strongest recommendation regarding his professional skills and services! (originally posted 11/6/14)
James B.
Submitted 04/30/20
Thank you so much for a very successful surgery! I was walking within 24 hours, needed no pain medication, and within a month's time I got back on track with my daily walk on the Carpinteria bluffs. My wife and I found you, Karen, and your entire staff delightfully friendly and helpful as well. Many, many thanks!! James Paul Brown (originally posted 12/19/14)
Patricia P.
Submitted 04/30/20
After doing a lot of research for an orthopedic surgeon who was trained in minimally invasive and robotic surgery, I found Dr. Gallivan. In 2004 he did a unicompartmental replacement on my right knee which almost 11 years later is still working well for me.Ten years later, it was my left knee but it required a total knee replacement.I would not consider anyone doing my surgery other than Dr. Gallivan. I was only in the hospital overnight and have made wonderful strides in my recovery.Dr. Gallivan is without a doubt the best doctor I have ever had. He takes the time to listen and to answer any questions. He's compassionate and considerate. My surgery was excellent. I travel 2 1/2 hours to see Dr. Gallivan and would never consider going anywhere else because of his skills, his ethics, his professionalism, his care. (originally posted 3/6/15)
Evelynn S.
Submitted 04/30/20
I had consulted with numerous doctors because I was having problems with my back, my knee and my foot. Other doctors felt that it was not necessary to have a knee replacement. It was not until after I met with Dr. Gallivan that I decided I would go ahead with knee replacement surgery. Even though Dr. Gallivan was the only doctor who recommended knee replacement surgery, I trusted his advice because of his sincerity and because I had heard recommendations from many, many people.He also put me in touch with a doctor for my foot problems who said I should have foot surgery. The recuperation would be the same as if I had knee replacement surgery. I was really feeling crippled because of my foot, my knee and my back. Dr. Gallivan is extremely professional yet incredibly friendly. A few months after my surgery, it was amazing to realize that my foot was feeling better and my back also was feeling better. The knee replacement seemed to have helped the other areas of my body also. Dr. Gallivan was accessible. It was so nice to have a doctor who took his patient's care so seriously. I highly recommend Dr. Gallivan when considering a surgeon. (originally posted 8/18/15)
Griffin K.
Submitted 04/30/20
Dr. Gallivan is as good as they get. My memory is swift as I was 3 years old when he performed surgery on my shattered left Femur. However, my parents always told me how wonderful and caring he was about me and my recovery post surgery. And let me tell you about my recovery! It was rough going, but because Dr. Gallivan performed such a good surgery, I've been able to play 8 different sports in my life as well as excel very well in them.. Not a single problem in that leg and It's all thanks to Dr. Gallivan. Highly recommend him.
Suzanne P.
Submitted 04/30/20
I am 71 years old and have always been a very active person until both of my hip joints became almost immobilized by arthritis. I put off surgery for many years because I did not want to take the time off work required for surgery and recovery. In 2016 I finally retired and after much research on orthopedic surgeons in the area I decided on Dr. Gallivan, which, as it turned out, was the best decision I could have ever made. Dr. Gallivan was thorough throughout the whole process from diagnosis to post surgery care and put me completely at ease from my first appointment through two hip replacement surgeries. He has a wonderful staff who were always helpful and friendly, and Jackie, who does his scheduling, made all the preparatory appointments go smoothly for me. Dr. Gallivan is a first class orthopedic surgeon who uses the latest technology to make sure all his patients get the best possible results. He is also a really nice person with a great sense of humor, which for me was the icing on the cake. He has given me a whole new lease on life and made it possible for me to return to all the activities I so much enjoy and in record time. I highly recommend him to any one considering a joint replacement surgery. (originally posted 11/20/15)
Tom P.
Submitted 04/30/20
DR.GALLIVAN REPLACED MY HIP 14 YEARS AGO AND I WAS COMPLETELY SATISFIED. THIS JUNE HE DID A TOTAL LEFT KNEE REPLACEMENT AND I AM TOTALLY PAIN FREE AND WALKING LIKE I HAVE NOT EXPERIENCED IN QUITE SOME TIME. AS FAR AS I AM CONCERNED, HE IS A "WATER WALKER" AND THE ONLY ORTHOPEDIC SURGEON I WOULD EVER USE. (originally posted 12/24/15)